Leo Albert Boisvert A Tribute To My Dad

Leo Albert Boisvert, 83, died Oct. 19, 2011, at a Bangor hospital. He was born Dec. 28, 1927, in Lewiston, the son of Paul J. and Blanche (St. Pierre) Boisvert.

Leo was a wonderful husband, father and grandfather. His family was his life. He was a veteran of the Korean War and a member of the American Legion. He was also a member of Holy Redeemer Catholic Church, Bar Harbor, and Knights of Columbus. Leo worked as a barber for 18 years and for 32 years owned and operated Acadia Restaurant, Bar Harbor. He was active in bowling and enjoyed his time at Harvey and Mary Walls camp, their good friends and in Florida vacationing during the winter.

Leo is survived by his beloved wife, Pierrette (Boulanger) Boisvert, whom he just celebrated 59 years of marriage with Oct. 18, 2011; two sons, Paul Boisvert and wife, Linda, of Hancock and Peter Boisvert and wife, Susan, of Brunswick; one daughter, Denise Daugherty and husband, Rick; and a son-in-law, William Thurston, all of Bar Harbor; nine grandchildren and many great-grandchildren. He was predeceased by his son, Claude Boisvert; daughter, Dorothy Thurston; and one brother, Roger.

Friends are invited to call 3-5 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 23, at Jordan-Fernald, 48 Eden St., Bar Harbor. A memorial Mass will be held 11 a.m. Monday, Oct. 24, at Holy Redeemer Catholic Church, Bar Harbor, with Father John O’Hara, celebrant. Interment will be at Holy Redeemer Cemetery, Bar Harbor. Contributions in Leo’s memory may be made to Guiding Eyes for the Blind, 611 Granite Springs Road, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598. Condolences may be expressed at http://www.jordanfernald.com.

A poem to my dad

Strong and true safe harbor provided

My Dad The Anchor of Our Family

Attached to the ship in truth, loyalty and devotion

The members of the crew feel secure when set
wind, rain, the pull of tide does not prevail
The finest of material made
The ship itself pulling in all directions
will not dislodge the firm placement
How happy, how safe, how full life given
To a ship large but fragile
The ship, The crew hoist you up in honor
To thank you for your tireless service.

A tribute to my dad
I love you dad.

Press here for a video taken of mom and dad in June 2011.

A Veterans funeral for my dad He served during the Korean War

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Fr. Matt Temple, O.Carm., October 19, 2011

To the Boisvert family: my prayers and condolences on Leo’s death.  I have been coming up to Holy Redeemer and Bar Harbor since 1986. Seeing Leo and the Boisvert’s at Holy Redeemer and at the Acadia Restaurant had become a happy part of my visit each summer.  I know it is very hard to see Leo go. But it is so easy to hold Leo up to the Lord and say “thank you, Lord for a wonderful human being!”. So I hold up Leo – and his family – to the Lord in gratitude for Leo’s life, and so that the Lord will comfort all of you.
Fr. Matt Temple, O.Carm.
About Social Media Connected

A social driven Maine based company serving the needs of businesses and promoting Maine as the destination state.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leo Albert Boisvert A Tribute To My Dad

  1. Words alone cannot describe the life of my dad. He worked tirelessly to support his family. He always had an open door for people. He loved life and all that it had to give. He set the example of how a man should act in good times and in bad. Memories of a house full of family and friends. So full in fact that we had to move the meals to the restaurant to fit everyone. The smell of evergreens in my home when my folks made wreaths in order to buy gifts for us kids. The faith in God he held up so firmly for his family I will never forget. Rest in peace my earthly father, you deserve it. I Love you dad.

  2. Sandra Frost Urban says:

    I worked for Leo as a server back in 1978/79 and will always remember his warm smile and that little twinkle in his eye. He had a tremendous heart and even bigger love for his family, and even for those he seemed to take under his wing. He tried to teach me how to cook, but would never come up off his “recipe” for his fish chowder! He used to just wink, and shoo me out of the kitchen! I will always cherish those fun times and want to thank Toni and the family for sharing him with all of us. Rest in peace, Leo. You will be missed!

  3. Jean Vance says:

    Pete and the rest of the family I am truly sorry for the loss of your Dad I know just how you feel ..It does get easier but just remeber all the wonderful times I know you all had with him!!!
    I love you all
    Jean Keene-Vance(soon to be Olsson)

Leave a Reply

